Quick Answer: Tankless water heater warranties split into three tiers — heat exchanger (the longest, 12–25 years, or lifetime on EcoSmart’s ECO series), parts (2–5 years for electronics, sensors, and valves), and labor (just 1 year on most brands, extendable to 5 with registration). Noritz’s EZ Series tops the category at a 25-year heat exchanger warranty; Rinnai’s Sensei, Navien’s NPE-2, A.O. Smith’s Adapt+ and Rheem’s condensing units sit at 15 years (Rheem’s includes full-unit replacement, per rheem.com), and Rinnai’s V Series is the short one at 10 years. Two newer catches: Navien’s warranty pages say internet and e-commerce purchases void coverage, and an uncontrolled recirculation loop cuts Navien’s heat exchanger term from 15 years to 5. The catch nearly every buyer misses: on Takagi and Noritz, adding a recirculating pump explicitly cuts the heat exchanger warranty by close to half (15→10 and 25→15 respectively) — while Rinnai and Navien reserve their shorter 8-year tier for commercial use or off-label conditions, not recirculation itself.

A tankless water heater is an $800–$1,900 purchase you’re expected to keep for 15–20 years, which makes the warranty almost as important as the spec sheet — yet it’s the part buyers skim past fastest. Here’s what each major brand actually promises, in writing, and the fine-print conditions that quietly shrink that coverage.

Last updated October 30, 2026: re-checked against each manufacturer’s own warranty pages. Rheem corrected from 12 to 15 years (rheem.com lists “15 year Heat Exchanger / 5-Year Parts / 1-Year Labor” on the Performance Platinum ECOH200DVELN-3 and 15 years with full-unit replacement on the IKONIC S); Rinnai split by series (Sensei 15 years, V Series 10/12 years, RL94iN 12 years); Navien’s controlled vs uncontrolled recirculation tiers and its e-commerce clause added; A.O. Smith Adapt+ added (15-year heat exchanger, 5-year parts, hotwater.com); Takagi marked discontinued. Earlier update (August 27): added Atmor’s terms.

Warranty comparison across major brands

BrandHeat ExchangerPartsLaborRecirculation/commercial cut
Noritz (EZ Series)25 years*5 years1 yearDrops to 15 yr (recirc/preheated)
EcoSmart (ECO Series)Lifetime**Lifetime**1 year5 yr outside US/Canada
Rinnai (Sensei RX)15 years5 years1 yr (5 yr if registered within 90 days)Drops to 8 yr (commercial / >160°F, not simple recirc)
Rinnai (V Series / RL94iN)10 years (12 with isolation valve kit) / 12 yearsSee Rinnai warranty card1 yr (5 yr if registered)3 yr in a recirculation loop that is not on-demand controlled
Navien (NPE-A2/S2)15 years5 years1 yearUncontrolled recirc: 5 yr HX / 3 yr parts; commercial: 8 yr (controlled) or 3 yr; internet/e-commerce purchase voids warranty
Takagi (discontinued)15 years2 years2 yearsDrops to 10 yr (recirc/commercial)
Rheem (IKONIC, Performance Platinum)15 years, incl. full-unit replacement5 years1 year"Coverage varies by model" per rheem.com
A.O. Smith (Adapt+ ATHR-199X3)15 years5 yearsNot stated on product pageResidential application
Stiebel Eltron (Tempra)7 yr leak3 yearsNot separately statedn/a (electric, no recirc concern)
Bradford White (Infiniti)15 yearsNot publicly specifiedNot publicly specifiedTrade-channel brand; confirm terms with installer
Atmor7 yr leak2 yearsNot separately statedn/a (electric, no recirc concern)

*Noritz's 25-year term applies to the EZ98, EZ111, EZTR50, and EZTR75 in single-family, non-recirculating use; the EZTR40 carries a 12-year heat exchanger warranty. **EcoSmart's lifetime tier applies to its ECO-series whole-home units when registered in the US/Canada; its ECOS line carries a 5-year leak / 1-year parts warranty instead.

By the numbers

The recirculation trap: read the fine print by brand, not by category

This is the fact most buyers miss entirely, and it isn’t the same rule on every brand. If you’re installing a recirculating pump for faster hot water at distant fixtures — a popular upgrade — check your specific manufacturer’s language before you assume the headline warranty still applies. Takagi’s heat exchanger warranty drops from 15 years to 10 with an approved hot-water recirculation system, full stop. Noritz’s 25-year EZ Series ceiling falls to 15 years the moment the unit sees pre-heated or circulated water. Rinnai is more forgiving on paper: its shorter 8-year tier is tied to commercial use or running above 160°F, and a recirculation loop controlled through an aquastat, timer, or on-demand system — the same standard our recirculating pump guide covers, and our recirculation loop guide explains how the loop itself is plumbed — keeps the standard heat exchanger warranty in place; it’s an undocumented, uncontrolled loop that puts coverage at risk. Navien draws the line at control: its NPE-A2 and NPE-S2 warranty pages keep the full 15-year residential term with “standard or controlled” recirculation, name an aquastat as the minimum pump control, and drop the heat exchanger to 5 years (3 on parts) with uncontrolled recirculation. Its 8-year tier is for commercial or combi use. None of this is hidden — it’s printed in every brand’s warranty document — but it rarely makes it into a plumber’s sales pitch or a product listing, and lumping all brands under one “recirculation voids the warranty” rule (as it’s often repeated online) gets Rinnai and Navien wrong, as long as the pump is controlled.

Rinnai Sensei RX199iN (Condensing Gas)

15-year heat exchanger warranty (standard use) · 0.98 UEF · up to 11.1 GPM (warm inlet)
  • Registers online in minutes — the step that extends labor coverage from 1 year to 5.
  • Add a recirculating pump with a proper aquastat, timer, or on-demand control and the standard 15-year heat-exchanger tier stays intact — an uncontrolled loop is the real risk, not the pump itself.

Labor is the warranty everyone underestimates

Heat exchanger coverage gets the marketing headline, but labor — the cost of actually paying a plumber to diagnose and swap the failed part — is capped at just 1 year on nearly every brand here, Takagi’s 2-year term being the lone exception. Rinnai explicitly offers a way around this: register the unit within 90 days of purchase and labor coverage extends to 5 years. That single step, which takes about five minutes online, is worth more in real dollars than most of the spec-sheet differences buyers agonize over — a service call plus 2–3 hours of labor commonly runs $200–$500, per our tankless water heater cost guide. Skip registration and a heat-exchanger failure in year 6 might be a free part and a $400 bill to install it.

Where you buy can void the warranty

Two brands now put the seller in the warranty terms. Navien’s NPE-A2 and NPE-S2 warranty pages state that “consumer purchases through the internet or other e-commerce channels shall void Navien’s warranty,” so a Navien should come through an installer or a Navien dealer. Rinnai says units bought from an unauthorized dealer aren’t covered. Neither rule shows up on a retailer’s product page. If you’re comparing brands partly on warranty, our tankless water heater brands guide shows which badges share a parent company and paperwork.

What actually voids the warranty

Every brand’s fine print circles the same handful of exclusions:

Which warranty actually matters for your decision

The bottom line

Warranty length correlates loosely with brand confidence, but the number on the box is never the whole story. Noritz’s 25-year EZ Series term and EcoSmart’s lifetime ECO-series coverage are the standouts; the 15-year standard on Rinnai’s Sensei, Navien, Rheem’s condensing units and A.O. Smith’s Adapt+ is the safe mainstream choice; Rinnai’s V Series, at 10 years, is the short one among major gas brands. Buy a Navien through an installer, because its terms void online purchases. Whatever you buy, the two moves that matter most are inside your control: register the unit within the window that unlocks extended labor coverage, and keep the annual descaling flush on the calendar so hard-water scale never becomes the reason a claim gets denied. Warranty term is also a reasonable proxy for expected service life — see our tankless water heater lifespan guide for how long these units actually last in practice and what shortens that beyond the warranty clock. Once this manufacturer coverage runs out, a third-party home warranty service contract is a separate product with its own rules — our home warranty guide covers the BTU caps and point-of-use exclusions that catch buyers off guard there.